[Canadian 🇨🇦 Book Talk] In This Moment by Karma Brown

Book Details:

Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Read: July 2017

Synopsis:

Bestselling author Karma Brown is back with a morally infused and emotionally riveting exploration of one woman’s guilt over an unexpected—yet avoidable—tragedy.

Meg Pepper has a fulfilling career and a happy family. Most days she’s able to keep it all together and glide through life. But then, in one unalterable moment, everything changes.

After school pickup one day, she stops her car to wave a teenage boy across the street…just as another car comes hurtling down the road and slams into him.

Meg can’t help but blame herself for her role in this horrific disaster. Full of remorse, she throws herself into helping the boy’s family as he rehabs from his injuries. But the more Meg tries to absolve herself, the more she alienates her own family—and the more she finds herself being drawn to the boy’s father, Andrew.

Soon Meg’s picture-perfect life is unravelling before her eyes. As the painful secrets she’s been burying bubble dangerously close to the surface, she will have to decide: Can she forgive herself, or will she risk losing everything she holds dear to her heart?

My Thoughts

Whenever a book comes to my attention that is about a mother, I have to read it, especially when it’s a mother of a younger child. I don’t know why, but ever since I became a mother I feel like I can relate to stories that are more so about moms just trying to keep their shit together.

I hadn’t heard of Karma Brown before this book, but I’m so glad I discovered her! This book was full of ups and downs of one mother’s life after a tragic event happens. I love that the event is relatable; it’s really something that could happen to anyone and I love how Karma really attacked the guilt issue that someone would have in Meg’s situation. Not only that, but we have the people around her dealing with what happened and just this downward spiral of events that might happen when a person is having major guilt over a situation.

Honestly, this book was relatable and honest and still really great to read. It was a fast read and when I did sit down to read it, I managed to fly through. I had actually made it almost to 100 pages and brought it with me to an appointment and I just got hooked again, after taking a bit of a break, and had to finish over the weekend. I also have to say that I love the cover – I find it beautiful and eye catching and it’s just one of those books you’d see in the drug store and have to buy.

Really, my only issues with the book was relating to Meg herself. I could understand the guilt that she had and I would feel the exact same way, but I feel like a lot of the downward spiral that happens made me like her less, I think? There’s one big thing that happens in the book and I don’t want to say what it is and ruin the story, but it really made me lose respect for Meg. I mean, it’s a novel and stuff like this happens both in novels and in real life, but what happened really had me shaking my head. Which I do think is good because I love having reacts to people and events in books that aren’t normal reactions. And while it could be easy to just loathe Meg for almost making everything about her and her feelings, I think a lot of what this story is about is forgiveness and sometimes it’s not just about forgiving other people but forgiving ourselves. It’s also a story that shows the reader the importance of talking to people rather than trying to hold the world on our shoulders and keeping everything inside.

I’m so excited to try more of Karma’s work – I’ve heard her other books are fantastic and I think she has the potential to become one of my new favourite Canadian authors.

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews! 

A Paper Arrow
Read Eat Sleep Repeat
The Pages In Between

One thought on “[Canadian 🇨🇦 Book Talk] In This Moment by Karma Brown

  1. Pingback: Month of Canada for #Canada150 Wrap Up & Giveaway! | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

