[Book Talk] Ember Island by Kimberley Freeman

Book Details:

Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Read: June 2017

Synopsis:

A riveting story of secrets and scandal.

1890: Orphaned as a small child, Tilly Kirkland found a loving, safe home with her grandfather in Dorset. But nineteenth-century England is an unforgiving place for a young woman with limited means and as her grandfather’s health fails, it seems perfect timing that she meets Jasper Dellafore. Yet her new husband is not all he seems. Alone in the Channel Islands, Tilly finds her dream of a loving marriage is turning into a nightmare.

2012: Bestselling novelist Nina Jones is struggling with writer’s block and her disappointing personal life. Nothing is quite working. After a storm damages Starwater, her house on Ember Island, she decides to stay for a while and oversee the repairs: it s a perfect excuse to leave her problems behind her on the mainland. Then Nina discovers diary pages hidden in the walls of the old home. And a mystery unravels that she is determined to solve.

Though the two women are separated by years, Starwater House will alter the course of both their lives. Nina will find that secrets never stay buried and Tilly learns that what matters most is trusting your heart.

My Thoughts

This is only my second Kimberley Freeman book, but oh my gosh, I wish I had ALL of her books so I could binge read them! She is such a great writer, weaving the past and the present together so seamlessly, but still in a way that has you wondering how everything fits together.

The last book I had read by Kimberley happened years ago and I loved it so much — I think I bought this one pretty soon after finishing that one because I just couldn’t stop thinking about it. I had other books I was reading but this one kept niggling its way into my head and I finally had to pick it up! Right off the bat I remembered why I loved her writing so much – she sucked me right in and automatically I was curious how the past story fit with that of the present, that of a writer who escapes to an old family house to work on her next novel. I loved that the main character was a writer and I fell in love with Starwater immediately.

This was such an enjoyable read and I loved that it kept me reading late at night. It might have been slightly predictable, but the joy of reading the story and the journey to what I thought might happen in the end was still so great. And only a few chapters in I was researching Kimberley’s other books, seriously contemplating just buying them all because she’s just such a great writer! If I had to compare her to someone, it would probably be the writing of Taylor Jenkins Reid, where you get those dual stories that meet up at some point in the book. This story was addicting and lovely and I’m happy I finally read it!

3 thoughts on “[Book Talk] Ember Island by Kimberley Freeman

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

