[Audiobook Talk] Like a River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #2) by Rae Carson

Audiobook Details

Format: Audiobook & Hardcover
Source: Library & Purchased
Narrator: Erin Mallon
Length: 10 hours 27 minutes
Read: March 2017

The Gold Seer series

  1. Walk on Earth a Stranger
  2. Like a River Glorious
  3. Into the Bright Unknown (October 2017)

Synopsis:

After a harrowing journey across the country, Leah Westfall and her friends have finally arrived in California and are ready to make their fortunes in the Gold Rush. Lee has a special advantage over the other new arrivals in California—she has the ability to sense gold, a secret known only by her handsome best friend Jefferson and her murdering uncle Hiram.

Lee and her friends have the chance to be the most prosperous settlers in California, but Hiram hasn’t given up trying to control Lee and her power. Sabotage and kidnapping are the least of what he’ll do to make sure Lee is his own. His mine is the deepest and darkest in the territory, and there Lee learns the full extent of her magical gift, the worst of her uncle, and the true strength of her friendships. To save everyone, she vows to destroy her uncle and the empire he is building—even at the cost of her own freedom.

The second epic historical fantasy in the Gold Seer trilogy by Rae Carson, the acclaimed author of The Girl of Fire and Thorns.

My Thoughts

I am loving this series! There are so many YA books out there that are dystopian or about witches or vampires or other supernatural creatures, but there aren’t many that are historical – or at least, not many that I’ve found. I love that this one takes place during the gold rush and has just the teensiest bit of magic to it.

I own both of the books in this series, but I’ve been listening to the audiobooks, which are pretty awesome. It’s weird because once I start listening, I can’t stop thinking of the show Westworld, since the main character just has that sound about her, like the main character in the show. I can just picture the scenery in Westworld in my head as I listened to this book and maybe the man in black as evil Hiram?

The last book should be interesting and I’m glad I’m keeping up with the series. Rae Carson writes a great story. You’d think that historicals could get a little boring, but she makes it so fun and interesting, with great characters, adventure, romance. This series is definitely a must read!

Audiobook Notes: 

I’m fairly certain I listened to the first book on audio, too, and frankly I’m loving the narration! I think Erin Mellon does a great job of giving voices to these characters and they really sound “of the time period,” if that makes sense. She didn’t just read the story, either, but conveyed great emotion where it was needed. Her pacing was spot on and I just really enjoyed the reading and will check out other titles narrated by Erin in the future!

[Audiobook Talk] All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

all-the-bright-placesAudiobook Details:

Format: Audiobook & Hardcover
Source: Library & Bought
Narrator: Kirby Heyborne, Ariadne Meyers
Length: 11 hours 4 minutes
Read: February 2017

Synopsis:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

My Thoughts

I have tons of books on my shelf that I can vaguely recall what they’re supposed to be about. So when I start reading them, I sort of know what to expect. But with this book, I had NO idea. I just knew that my library had the audiobook and since I had the hardcover I figured I’d listen to the book to knock it off my shelf.

This book is hard to describe. It’s weird to say that it was a pleasant surprise because I sobbed while reading it, but it was definitely one of those books that I wasn’t expecting. I loved the relationships in it, the misunderstood characters, the secrets, the romance, and all the events that brought tears to my eyes. Seriously, this whole story is heartbreaking and I can’t believe I didn’t get to it sooner.

Audiobook Notes: 

Kirby and Ariadne did a fantastic job of narrating this beautiful story! I felt like they were both really great at getting the emotion of both of the characters across and you could really hear the brokenness of them through the narration.

[Audiobook Talk] P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

ps-i-like-youBook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Narrator: Shannon McManus
Length: 6 hours 56 minutes
Read: February 2017

Synopsis:

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

My Thoughts

I am on this major Kasie West kick this month! One of the first books I bought this year was Kasie’s latest, By Your Side, and I loved it so much that I wondered why I hadn’t read some of her other books. I still had a couple left unread and I decided to finally get to them since she writes such adorable and lovely books that I just fall in love immediately! Thankfully, Hoopla had four of them as audiobooks, so I started this one, a book about two teens who start a pen pal romance.

It was so wonderful! Not as good as By Your Side, and it was a bit predictable, but I loved every second of the journey. I wasn’t overly thrilled by the narration since the male love interest just seemed snarky all the time and I’m sure I would’ve read it differently in my head, but it was still fun to listen to.

I still have one more book of Kasie’s to read and I can’t wait to get to it!

Audiobook Notes: 

This is a little harder to comment on, since I listened to the audio on Hoopla. I like to speed up my books and I find that speeding up anything on Hoopla, even just a little bit, almost distorts the narration? It’s not horrible, but it’s not as clear as listening to a book on Overdrive. Regardless, I think Shannon McManus still did a great job narrating. And I love how short these books are – even if you don’t speed them up like I do, it’s still a quick 2 day listen.